Neil Sedaka to get award; mention of Neil

Thursday 13th May, 2004

Neil Sedaka to get top songwriting honor

Big News Wednesday 12th May, 2004

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has selected Neil Sedaka to receive its highest honor in recognition of his 45 years in the music business.

Sedaka, who wrote Clay Aiken’s current No. 1 song Solitaire, will receive the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award June 10 at the 2004 awards dinner in New York, the organization announced Tuesday.

Sedaka has written scores of pop music classics recorded by the likes of Carole King, Connie Francis, Abba, Sheryl Crow, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, including Laughter in the Rain, Love Will Keep Us Together, Where the Boys Are, Sweet Sixteen and Breaking Up Is Hard To Do.

Past recipients of the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors an industry veteran as as a pioneer in his or her craft with enduring and influential contributions, include Patti LaBelle, Dick Clark, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Neil Diamond, Berry Gordy, Tony Bennett, Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme, Nat King Cole and Quincy Jones.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]